How To Get More Writing Out of The Way Everyday

I should say that I wrote huge this morning, but I didn’t.

I just couldn’t piece the words together.

Why?

I had lost my vibe. My writing juice, I mean. Like, I started the morning with no internet subscription. And of course, being overly dependent on reading blogs first before writing, I just had to…read before writing.

A bad thing?

Doubt it is.

That’s my style. And it works for me.

That’s how to make progress writing: recognizing your style, how writing works for you and being a stickler for it.

Of course modifying it when it’s necessary, but making sure whatever modification is made, it suits you and works for you.

It’s all about being yourself – who you really are – and using that to enhance your writerly life.

It’s finding who you are – what works for you – that shapes how you approach the work.

And it defines the amount of progress you make too.

      How Writing Gets Better

I’ve got a couple thoughts on how to make my writing better. But none beats getting up early to write.

It’s waking up to write, getting that out of the way, that prepares me for a ‘writerly’ day all through. I find I’m unprepared and lackadaisical about writing when that method isn’t checked for the day.

That’s my method: read blogs before writing, get up early to write.

It’s not then okay to put off my writing till later in the day. Or to think I’ll get it done before bedtime. I’ll be lying to myself. I’d never do it.

Catching my drift?

Now here’s the gist: Find out what method works for you – how writing comes easy to you – and stick with it.

Use the method again and again till you begin to see the writerly life of your dream start to shape out.

It takes hard-boiled dedication, unflinching persistence, unwavering focus, and dogged tenacity to wade through the dark tides of writing hitches.

This post is short but is intended to emphasize a point: find your writing method – or style – and stick with it.

Now I wrote this morning. Finally got to put the words together. And it cos I stuck with my method.

Stick with yours too.

*Image Credit: Transformnation

What’s your method for getting writing out of the way for the day? Share your comments below.

___________________________________________

Hi. I’m Yusuff Busayo, a chronic writer and a fanatic book-lover. Here, I share kick-butt insights to help you write, create and make impact. Check out what I offer on my about page. Or connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, Google+.

Like this post? Share it on your favorite social networking site!

2 comments

  1. So very, very true. Give procrastination an inch, and it’s easy to youtube away a full day of perfectly good writing time! I’ve gone so far as to temporarily disconnect my modem to ensure no distractions to my writing. Drastic, but if it’s the only thing that works, it’s what I do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

